On January 16, 1979, 19 men met with the Organizing Committee of the Rotary Club of Iloilo South led by PP Erning Rivera (GSR) and PP Goding San Jose III (GEA) to form the Rotary Club of Metro Iloilo (RCMI). 13 others joined the core of RCMI which was officially recognized on June 1, 1979. The Charter Presentation and Induction of Officers and members was held on 29 July 1979 at the Sarabia Manor Hotel.

The club was cited as the Most Outstanding (or Outstanding) Rotary Club of District 3850 for a record 20 times. Sixteen of its Presidents were cited as an Outstanding or the Most Outstanding President of the District. Its website was voted as the Best Rotary Club Website in the World in 1998.

The club has 139 Paul Harris fellows and more than 50 Rotary Foundation Sustaining Members. It has contributed more than $100,000.00 to the Rotary Foundation. To source funds for Community service projects, an active roster of past presidents formed the Rotary Club of Metro Iloilo Foundation, Inc.

The club excels in sports and has won numerous over-all championships in the Annual National Metro Sports. It has played a key role in organizing this annual event and has hosted the affair twice.

RCMI is one of the biggest clubs in District 3850. It extended six other Rotary Clubs namely: the Rotary Clubs of: Midtown Iloilo (through PDG Francis Te and PP Ping Lopez); Guimaras (through PP Bong Gustilo and PP Veling Tibudan); Molo (through PP Tony Sangrador and PP Ramon Cua Locsin); Lapaz (during the term of PP Ed Yee) Dumangas (during PP Joe Espinosa III’s administration) and Metro Passi (during PP Ronnel Quinon’s term.)

The Club has 2 Past District Governors: Francisco Te and Ramon Locsin.

RCMI continues to foster the ideal of service through various community and vocational projects.